Apple's technical specifications list MagSafe wireless charging up to 25W, Qi2 wireless charging up to 25W, and the full MagSafe hardware: a magnet array, an alignment magnet, Accessory Identification NFC and a magnetometer.
Catch one: the magnets can only be in one half of a folding phone, so never mount the Duo magnetically while it is open.
Catch two: the Duo is short — 117.8 mm folded — so some MagSafe wallets and battery packs designed for taller iPhones attach fine but hang over the bottom edge.
Before launch, whether Apple's first foldable would have MagSafe at all was a genuine open question — early dummy units appeared without a magnet ring. That is now settled. What has not been widely explained is how MagSafe behaves on a phone that folds in half, and which of your existing MagSafe accessories will actually suit it.
What Apple confirms
| Feature | iPhone Duo | Status |
|---|---|---|
| MagSafe wireless charging | Up to 25W | ✅ Apple spec |
| Qi2 wireless charging | Up to 25W | ✅ Apple spec |
| Magnet array | Yes | ✅ Apple spec |
| Alignment magnet | Yes | ✅ Apple spec |
| Accessory Identification NFC | Yes | ✅ Apple spec |
| Magnetometer | Yes | ✅ Apple spec |
| MagSafe fast charge | Up to 50% in about 30 minutes with a MagSafe Charger and 35W or higher adapter | ✅ Apple spec |
| Wired fast charge | Up to 50% in about 20 minutes with a 60W or higher adapter | ✅ Apple spec |
| Which half holds the magnets | Not stated by Apple | ⬜ See below |
| Charging while open | Not stated by Apple | ⬜ See below |
In plain terms: the iPhone Duo has the same MagSafe system as every iPhone since the iPhone 12, at the current top charging speed. MagSafe chargers, Qi2 chargers, MagSafe wallets, mounts and stands all attach and work. Apple's own iPhone Duo Case ($79) and Folio with Kickstand ($129) both have magnets built in for MagSafe.
Where the magnets are — and why it matters
Apple does not say which half of the iPhone Duo holds the magnet array. But the geometry leaves only one answer. Folded, one half's outer face is the 5.4″ outer screen; the other half's outer face is the back, with the cameras. A MagSafe accessory attaches to the back of a phone, so the array has to be in the back half — the half with the cameras.
That produces the first catch:
The same logic applies to charging pads. Folded, the Duo sits on a MagSafe or Qi2 pad like any iPhone. Apple has not said whether it charges while lying open. If you try it, the back half — the camera half — is the one that has to be over the pad.
Why some MagSafe accessories overhang
This is the second catch, and the one most likely to catch out people upgrading from another iPhone.
iPhone 12 mini, the shortest MagSafe iPhone before it: 131.5 mm tall
Difference: the Duo is 13.7 mm shorter
MagSafe wallets and battery packs were designed around iPhones between roughly 131 and 165 mm tall. The iPhone Duo is shorter than all of them, and wider. On its back panel, three things compete for space: the camera at the top, the magnet ring that the accessory must centre on, and a short stretch of panel below the ring.
The result: an accessory can snap on and work perfectly while hanging over the bottom edge. One hands-on test, reported by accessory maker ZEERA, showed Apple's own FineWoven MagSafe Wallet protruding below the bottom of the iPhone Duo. That does not mean every wallet or battery pack will overhang — dimensions vary widely — but it means you should check the height of any MagSafe accessory before relying on it.
Will my MagSafe accessory work?
Accessory checker
Pick the accessory you already own or plan to buy.
| Accessory | Verdict | What to know |
|---|---|---|
| MagSafe Charger | Works | Up to 25W. Charge it folded. |
| Qi2 charging pad | Works | Qi2 up to 25W. Charge it folded. |
| Desk stand / StandBy dock | Works folded | Mount folded only. Propped up and stationary, the Duo can also enter StandBy without a charger. |
| Car mount | Works folded | Never mount it open. At 254 g, use a thin case for the strongest hold. |
| MagSafe wallet | Check height | Attaches, but taller wallets may overhang the 117.8 mm folded height. |
| Battery pack | Check height | Charges, but packs sized for larger iPhones may overhang and feel awkward. |
| Ring or grip | Works | Small, so fit is rarely an issue. Check it clears the camera. |
| Old Qi pad | Should work, slower | Apple lists MagSafe and Qi2; no magnetic alignment on older pads, so placement matters. |
Charging speeds compared
For the fastest MagSafe speed you need the current MagSafe Charger and a 35W or higher USB-C adapter. A Qi2 charger is also rated up to 25W. Older, non-Qi2 wireless pads will be slower and have no magnets to line the phone up, so where you put it matters more.
MagSafe through a case
Most iPhone Duo owners will use a case, so this is where MagSafe actually lives day to day. Three rules:
- Choose a case with magnets built in. A case without them puts plastic between the phone's magnets and the accessory, which weakens the hold. Apple's two Duo cases and all of the magnetic cases below carry their own magnets, so accessories attach to the case as firmly as to a bare phone.
- Thinner holds better. Magnetic force drops quickly with distance. For a car mount, the thinnest magnetic case you can live with is the safest choice. A thick leather case holds a wallet perfectly but grips a dashboard mount less firmly.
- Avoid stick-on rings on top of a case. They add distance and work loose with time. On a phone that already weighs 254 g, that is the wrong direction.
A wallet case is the one place MagSafe and a case compete: a built-in card pocket sits where a car mount wants to attach. If you mount daily, choose a plain magnetic case and carry a separate wallet.
Magnetic cases for iPhone Duo
Magnetic Silicone Protective Case for iPhone Duo
$39.95
Our thinnest magnetic case, with nothing between the magnets and the mount but a thin silicone wall. The best choice if your main MagSafe use is a dashboard or vent mount.
Shop this case
Magnetic Hinge Protection Case for iPhone Duo
$49.95
Magnets built in, plus cover for the closed spine. Ideal if you charge on a MagSafe pad at night and want the hinge protected during the day.
Shop this case
MagSafe Ring Stand Case for iPhone Duo
$49.95 · also from $39.95
A built-in ring props the open phone in landscape when no mount is around — a safer alternative to mounting it open. Also available in a $39.95 version.
Shop this case
MagSafe Leather Wallet Case for iPhone Duo
$49.95
Solves the overhang problem by building card storage into a case sized for the Duo, instead of attaching a wallet designed for a taller iPhone. Magnets still built in for charging.
Shop this caseFrequently asked questions
Does the iPhone Duo have MagSafe?
Yes. Apple's specifications list MagSafe wireless charging up to 25W, along with a magnet array, alignment magnet, Accessory Identification NFC and magnetometer.
Does the iPhone Duo support Qi2?
Yes. Apple lists Qi2 wireless charging up to 25W.
How fast does the iPhone Duo charge on MagSafe?
Apple quotes up to 50% in about 30 minutes using a MagSafe Charger with a 35W or higher adapter. Wired charging with a 60W or higher adapter reaches 50% in about 20 minutes.
Where are the MagSafe magnets on the iPhone Duo?
Apple has not published the exact position. They must be in the back half of the phone — the half with the cameras — because the other half's outer face is the outer screen. That puts them in the centre when folded and off to one side when open.
Can I use a MagSafe car mount with the iPhone Duo?
Yes, folded. Never mount it while open: the magnets are in one half only, so the phone's full weight would hang from that half and load the hinge.
Will my MagSafe wallet fit the iPhone Duo?
It will attach, but check its height. Folded, the iPhone Duo is 117.8 mm tall — 13.7 mm shorter than the iPhone 12 mini — so wallets designed for larger iPhones may hang over the bottom edge.
Will a MagSafe battery pack work with the iPhone Duo?
It should charge, but packs designed for larger iPhones may overhang the Duo's short folded body and make it awkward to hold. Smaller packs suit it better.
Does MagSafe work through a case on the iPhone Duo?
Yes, through a case with magnets built in. A case without magnets weakens the hold. Thinner magnetic cases hold mounts more firmly than thick ones.
Do Apple's iPhone Duo cases support MagSafe?
Yes. Both the $79 iPhone Duo Case and the $129 Folio with Kickstand have magnets built in for MagSafe.
Disclosure: This page is published by Duo Case Co, which sells iPhone Duo cases, including magnetic cases. MagSafe and Qi2 charging rates, MagSafe components and charging times are from Apple's published iPhone Duo technical specifications. Apple has not published the position of the magnet array or whether the device charges while open; the reasoning on this page is ours and is labelled as such. iPhone 12 mini height is from Apple's published specifications for that model. The FineWoven MagSafe Wallet overhang is a hands-on observation reported by ZEERA, not an Apple statement. StandBy without a charger is as reported in AppleInsider's hands-on coverage. Duo Case Co is an independent accessories company and is not affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by Apple Inc. Apple, iPhone, iPhone Duo, MagSafe, FineWoven and StandBy are trademarks of Apple Inc. Qi2 is a trademark of the Wireless Power Consortium.




Leave a comment
This site is protected by hCaptcha and the hCaptcha Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.